Author Topic: Is it possible to write a novel with three different points of view?  (Read 6692 times)

Offline RodimusGT

• Participant
    • View Profile
Being that I'm new to the writing gig I find it ten times easier to write a story in the first person. Even when reading books I tend to stick to first person novels I just feel more immersed in the story.

My issue is the one book I'm planning to write is impossible to write from just one persons point of view, and to really get everything in there I want I would have to write from three. I know it's possible to do, but in your opinion can it be done in a way that flows well? If adding that many POV's would really take the reader out of the story I'd much rather just give third person a try.

Opinions are appreciated, thanks!

Offline Shecky

• Bartender
  • O. M. G.
  • Feh.
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to write a novel with three different points of view?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 12:33:26 PM »
Read Robert Heinlein's The Number of the Beast. Multiple first-person PoVs.
Official forum rules and precepts; please read: http://www.jimbutcheronline.com/bb/index.php/topic,23096.0.html

Quote from: Stanton Infeld
Well, if you couldn't do that with your bulls***, Leonard, I suspect the lad's impervious.

Offline Gruud

• Participant
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2011, 02:06:29 PM »
Boy, I sure hope so!  :D

Although I'm sing limited third, not first.

Here's a good thread on this very subject.

I thought good opnions were given all around.

http://www.jimbutcheronline.com/bb/index.php/topic,18730.0.html

Offline RodimusGT

• Participant
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 02:42:44 PM »
Thanks for the quick responses guys! This helped a lot.

I feel like I should just write that story in third person, then I can have access to a lot of different characters' POV, but I feel my talent is with first.

Offline Shecky

• Bartender
  • O. M. G.
  • Feh.
    • View Profile