ParanetOnline

The Dresden Files => DFRPG => Topic started by: Taran on February 06, 2014, 07:35:28 PM

Title: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Taran on February 06, 2014, 07:35:28 PM
Quote from: ys: 206
Losing a conflict, either by concession or by
being taken out, grants the player one fate point
per consequence taken in the conflict. This is called
cashing out of the conflict. You can think of this
as a compel of each aspect taken in the conflict,
because the assumption is that those consequences
directly contributed to the character’s
defeat.

Joe has a mild and a moderate consequence, so he gets 2 fp's.  Yay for Joe.

Let's say Joe is a PC ghoul with supernatural recovery. 

During combat, he takes a mild, then cures it, then takes another mild, then cures it, then takes a 3rd mild and then takes a moderate.  Then he gets taken out or concedes.

Does he get 4 fp's?  One for each mild he took +1 for the moderate?
Or does he get 2:  1 for the mild he currently has and one for the moderate he currently has?

It says each consequence in the conflict so it seems to suggest the former.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Haru on February 06, 2014, 08:09:09 PM
I would only allow for those that stick to the end of the scene.

Otherwise, you could really use it as a Fate point printing press, basically granting you 2 extra Fate points per conflict, if you do it right. And that's without the risk of having those consequences tagged, because you can remove them, before that happens. That's a pretty big deal, I think.

I might allow more, if the tag on a consequence was used before removal, but I would have to think on that a bit more.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Taran on February 06, 2014, 08:36:20 PM
I agree.  Only counting those consequences that got tagged seems like a reasonable compromise...it would just mean a bit of book-keeping.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Mr. Death on February 06, 2014, 08:37:07 PM
I'd say only the consequences they have at the end of the fight.

Quote
You can think of this
as a compel of each aspect taken in the conflict,
because the assumption is that those consequences
directly contributed to the character’s
defeat.
You can't compel a consequence that is no longer there.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Tedronai on February 06, 2014, 11:08:36 PM
By RAW FPs are awarded based on Consequences taken, not merely those remaining at the time of the Concession/Take-out.

Houserule as you will.


edit: On a side note, I'm back!
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Sanctaphrax on February 08, 2014, 11:30:35 PM
Welcome back, Tedronai.

Regardless of what the rules say, I wouldn't recommend giving out 4 FP. Recovery + Cashing Out is probably already too profitable.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Tedronai on February 09, 2014, 01:44:46 AM
As a player, I'd likely have no objection to such houserules...unless they were dropped on me at the time of cash-out.  Then I might feel a bit 'cheated'.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: bobjob on February 10, 2014, 08:20:50 PM
Since I had several supernatural players with no magic (but lots of toughness/recovery powers), I did it that if the consequence gets tagged, you get a FP regardless of if you healed it or not. Any others that remained that were untagged also got a FP. So...

Ghoul takes a mild, heals it, takes a mild, it is tagged (1FP), heals it, takes another mild and a moderate (2FP) cashes out, he'd get 3 fate points.

At the table, I'd also keep a constantly moving pile of FP for each player. If they received a consequence, the pile would grow. If they healed it before it was tagged, it was taken away. It was easier for me to manage that way.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Cadd on February 15, 2014, 12:00:43 AM
A double check - the winning side of a conflict don't get any "cash out" Fate Points, right? It's only for those that are taken out or conceded?
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Tedronai on February 15, 2014, 12:18:28 AM
If you are not Taken Out, and do not Concede, you do not 'Cash Out'.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Cadd on February 15, 2014, 12:26:07 AM
Good, wanted to doublecheck after being confused when reading an old PbP story here and I got the impression that all the PC's got FPs for cashing out, when only one had conceded. Just a case of human fallibility there then. :)
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Taran on February 15, 2014, 03:43:56 AM
I know the pbp you speak of...it's a gooood one...
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Sanctaphrax on February 15, 2014, 09:55:20 PM
Which one?
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Taran on February 15, 2014, 10:00:43 PM
South America - Cradle of Darkness, I believe.
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Cadd on February 16, 2014, 04:24:52 AM
Yup, even though (most of) the players techincally shouldn't have gotten any FPs, they earned it with that police station fight!
Title: Re: Cashing out and FP's
Post by: Haru on February 17, 2014, 02:38:15 AM
Huh, we're famous. :o

Yeah, I mixed that up back then. I thought every consequence, no matter if you win or lose the fight, would grant a fate point.