ParanetOnline

The Dresden Files => DFRPG => Topic started by: Magicpockets on February 01, 2013, 10:28:52 PM

Title: Casting and Consequences
Post by: Magicpockets on February 01, 2013, 10:28:52 PM
Hi all,
Quick rules question: can a character with Evocation tag a target's consequences on his casting roll for the purpose of controlling the spell? I understand that aiming/control is a single discipline roll, and on normal attack rolls, you get to tag your target's consequences for free (assuming they haven't been tagged yet). In this particular instance, the character would not have met the complexity roll without the free tag.
Title: Re: Casting and Consequences
Post by: Mr. Death on February 01, 2013, 10:30:21 PM
Yes.
Title: Re: Casting and Consequences
Post by: Tedronai on February 01, 2013, 10:31:25 PM
For any and every aspect tagged or invoked, the player/gm seeking that benefit must explain how that aspect is providing it (narratively).  With that in mind, the question need only be asked of the player in question:  How does this aspect help you, here?
Title: Re: Casting and Consequences
Post by: Sanctaphrax on February 02, 2013, 03:39:39 AM
I'd probably allow it. But if you think it doesn't make sense, you don't have to.
Title: Re: Casting and Consequences
Post by: Deadmanwalking on February 02, 2013, 03:50:08 AM
Generally speaking, yes, you can do that. If you felt like it, you might disallow it if they'd fail their control roll without the invocation, the justification being that their enemy being wounded doesn't help them keep control of their magic...but it should definitely be allowed to enhance an already successful shot, at least IMO.
Title: Re: Casting and Consequences
Post by: Lavecki121 on February 02, 2013, 04:00:11 AM
Nah that's an ok justification. It makes it so they can't move out of the way as well hich is clearly an advantage