ParanetOnline
The Dresden Files => DFRPG => Topic started by: citadel97501 on February 15, 2012, 03:11:50 AM
-
Hello all,
Its been a while since I posted anything on the forums, but I was wondering what the general consensus would be on the following Lore Stunt. Please note anything I have wrong. . .
Lore:
Improved Foci: When using a focus you have built you may count your lore as 1 point higher than normal. This will allow you to provide a benefit more than your Lore skill normally allows.
Example:
Bob has Lore 4, and the Improved Foci Stunt, so now his foci can provide up to a +5 bonus rather than the normal limit of 4.
-
Hm, I dunno. It feels a bit too magical, and I worry about the balance of raising caps.
But I kind of like it for some weird reason.
PS: What do focus specializations do by the RAW?
-
Alternatively, a crafting specialization may
be applied to increase the limit on how many
bonuses may be placed on a single focus item (a
focus specialization).
So focus specializations do exactly what citadel is proposing.
-
So focus specializations do exactly what citadel is proposing.
Thus making this stunt useful only to Focused Practitioners, who are banned from taking Refinement for Specializations, and notably underpowered (though that may be how some tables like their Focused Practitioners, and would be in line with early novel characterizations of their potential).
-
Thus making this stunt useful only to Focused Practitioners, who are banned from taking Refinement for Specializations, and notably underpowered (though that may be how some tables like their Focused Practitioners, and would be in line with early novel characterizations of their potential).
Truth.
Seems reasonable, unless it allows you to break some other kind of pyramid-building rule. I'd need to review the powers/chapters in question to see if I notice anything.
-
Truth.
Seems reasonable, unless it allows you to break some other kind of pyramid-building rule. I'd need to review the powers/chapters in question to see if I notice anything.
I'm not sure any pyramid rules apply. It's not giving you a specialization (which requires a pyramid) but simply serving as one. Unless otherwise stated you can't benefit from the same stunt more than once, so it's not like someone could take five of these and be ridiculous.