According to YS, when you set your game at the "Submerged" power level, you could conceivably combine templates. Does anyone know how the minimum refresh cost would be affected then? Let's say someone wanted to be a Focused Practitioner and an Emissary of Power. Would the minimum refresh costs of [-2] and [-1] (respectively) simply combine to just total [-3]? Or is there a rule for template-mashing that I'm missing?Pretty much, unless there is overlap. My group uses this pretty extensively. I have a Wizard/Werecat, a Sorcerer/Sidhe Knight, and a Wizard/True Believer in my game.
-3. The "templates" just give you ideas for what powers you can take to achieve an effect. If you want a were-cat wizard, then you buy all the were-abilities, plus evocation, thaumaturgy, and the sight/soulgaze.I think the value of templates and why I wouldn't advocate abandoning them altogether is that they promote focus. Some folks will be inclined to treat the Powers section as a grab-bag of abilities to be browsed. Choosing a template or two makes sure you keep in context and only buy stuff that makes sense to your character, rather than being distracted by neat tricks. :)
A werewolf with a minor talent is just a werewolf who spent one more refresh on some wierdness.
-3. The "templates" just give you ideas for what powers you can take to achieve an effect. If you want a were-cat wizard, then you buy all the were-abilities, plus evocation, thaumaturgy, and the sight/soulgaze.