ParanetOnline
The Dresden Files => DFRPG => Topic started by: Baron Hazard on May 07, 2010, 12:30:30 AM
-
Jaime J. O’Connell
Power Level: Up to Your Waist (7 Refresh, 25 skill, skill cap: Great)
High Concept: Redeemed Ex-Nicklehead Pyromancer
Trouble: Denarian No More, Tempted still
Other Aspects: My Will Is My Own; If I Found Redemption, Anyone Can; In The Company of a Temple Guardian; Demon In My Head; Spent Years In A Himalayan Monastery
Alertness: Fair (+2)
Athletics: Fair (+2)
Conviction: Great (+4)
Discipline: Good (+3)
Empathy: Average (+1)
Endurance: Fair (+2)
Fists: Average (+1)
Lore: Good (+3)
Might: Average (+1)
Scholarship: Fair (+2)
Stealth: Average (+1)
Survival: Fair (+2)
Weapons: Average (+1)
Stunts:
Takes One To Know One (Lore): Gain +1 to Lore Rolls relating to information about the Fallen, +2 when pertaining to the Order of the Blackened Denarius. [-1]
Mind Over Matter (Discipline): Whenever Might or Endurance is required to supplement a skill action, Jaime may use Discipline instead. [-1] ([-2]?)
Powers:
Wizard’s Constitution [-0]
Hellfire Channeling (Sponsored) [-2]
Item Slots: 2 free item slots for channeling Hellfire.
Stress:
Mental: OOOO
Physical: OOO
Social: OO
Notes: Jaime J. O’Connell struggles against the shade of Castiel on a daily basis, knowing the exact location of the coin is an ever present temptation that compounds with the seductive whispers of her demonic ‘friend.’ In an attempt to fight her corruption and continue down the path of the redeemed she tries her hardest not to use Hellfire. She is accompanied by a Young Temple Guardian, the dog’s goal is to protect her from herself as much as from those around her. She feels driven to help those in need, and specifically to attempt to redeem those she feels were misguided down the wrong path.
Total Refresh: -4 (-5?)
Questions/comments: This was mainly just a test to see some of the nuances of character creation, the core of this character (Ex-Denarian with the Shade of Castiel in her head, accompanied by a temple guardian) are there so I wanted to see how we’d handle those situations. I applied proper aspects for them both, and offered Sponsored Hellfire and I feel it may work well. Would like to get some feedback.
What do you guys think about Mind Over Matter… should it be 2 stunts one for the Might replacement, and once for the Endurance replacement?
I have glanced through the book, but its hard for me to retain solid information without a physical copy to read extensively and quickly check with so if anything here blatantly violates any printed rulings… oops. :P
Thanks!
-
I think the mind over matter stunt works, unless it is used to supplement attacks and maneuvers in combat. I'm a little bit curious as to why you are using sponsored magic as just channeling. It could work, but it would depend on what benefits you see it as giving you.
-
Yeah, I don't think Mind Over Matter works, it'd logically work for Endurance, but definitely not Might. I also think Hellfire is a package deal, no just taking Channeling. Still, you have the Refresh for it, so it's not a huge deal.
-
yah i was abit confused on the sponsored magic stuff (one of the reasons i took this route) so channeling [-2] and sponsored magic [-1] (or is that only evocation? in which case sponsored magic is [-2])
Also, I was going the route of the original pre-denarian host as being a mostly vanilla mortal, the only ability she has is hellfire - its hellfire or nothing. I thought I saw precedence for that in the book. but again its hard for me to keep stuff in my head when reading it digitally, I cant focus as easily so retention and comprehension go down abit.
-
sponsored magic is -4, and gets a discount if you already have evocation or thaumaturgy, but not channeling or ritual
-
ahhh brutal. At first thats what i thought but then i thought maybe i'd had it wrong. Thanks for the clarification :D
-
I suppose you could just flavor the Channeling as "Hellfire" without it actually being Hellfire. Were you wanting all the perks of your sponsor handling debt for you and such or just a particular flavor to your spellcasting?
-
ahhh brutal. At first thats what i thought but then i thought maybe i'd had it wrong. Thanks for the clarification :D
Well, you do get Sponsored Thaumaturgy out of it as well as Evocation, so it's actually reasonably priced for what you get. You'll get 4 Item Slots, too.
-
Let me try and get this straight, because the concept of this char is a little confusing to me.
She was a full blown Denarian once, but found redemtion?... If that's the case, where does the Shadow come from?
Taking up the coin, being a monster for a while and then finding redemption and discarding the coin removes the shadow of the fallen, and would also take with it all the power she'd get from being possessed.
The only way she could have a shadow in her head, would be for her to be in the same situation as Harry was in after Death Masks. Having touched a coin, but not given in to the Denarian.
In my opinion the high concept doesn't fit the powers. An Ex-Nickelhead would not have access to sponsored magic.
Maybe if you call her a "Junior Nickelhead" instead... but then the whole redemption idea wouldn't fit.
Sorry for all that... I'm not trying to pry apart your character, I just see some inconsistencies with it.
-
nah no problem at all, in fact I recognized the Shadow-problem after having relinquished her coin while I was typing it up but decided to go through with it. Just because its unprecedented doesn't mean it couldn't happen: had the game be out before Death Masks and we didn't know about Shadows at all, and a player suggested it, it'd be the same ('Denarian's dont do that!'), but I'd still consider it do to the interesting hook it provides. In this case one could always say that if you give up the coin with lingering feelings of doubt or a perhaps conflicting emotions on the subject, the Fallen could leave behind a shadow in an attempt to seduce their host back. Or it could be just the way her particular Denarian operates.