Author Topic: Outline Help  (Read 8033 times)

Offline TgirlValentine

• Conversationalist
  • SO what if i dont remember, you can't prove it.
    • View Profile
    • my very own myspace
Outline Help
« on: April 29, 2008, 11:05:25 PM »
There was a topic on outlines, but it's been over 120 days old and i dont know how this board feels about "resurrecting" old topics.

So i'm a novice, if that, in the craft of writing. I'm a dreamer, so dont get me wrong i 've got plenty of ideas, but when it comes to writing i get stuck. It's not simple "writers block" as it is "writes insecurity of not being good enough for their own story" =0) i'm sure some here are familiar. SO i'd like to attempt outlining, but to be honest i'm not sure what all that entails. What are some "pre-outline" things i need to have in order to outline?

Thanks in advance for any help given.
"To be or not to be, that is the question. Whether tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune, or to take arms against a sea of troubles, and by opposing, end them."

Offline LizW65

• Posty McPostington
  • Better Red than dead...
    • View Profile
    • elizabethkwadsworth.com
Re: Outline Help
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2008, 12:58:25 AM »
I'm not saying this will work for you, but I start with the general and move to the specific.  I usually start with an idea of who the principal characters are and what the story's main problem is.  Once I get that much down on paper, I can start to think about how I want the story to begin and end.