Author Topic: How long did it take you to write it?  (Read 6292 times)

Offline Torvaldr

• Posty McPostington
  • The Morning Ogre
    • View Profile
    • Torvaldr's Leatherworks
How long did it take you to write it?
« on: November 22, 2007, 05:20:29 PM »
I have been working on one particular novel now for nearly ten years. I have a huge amount of respect for authors like Jim that can crank out one or two novels a year. So my question is how long did it take them to write the first one, and how long is it taking YOU to write your first?
Hugs are my second favorite thing in the world. The first involves hugging, but is more vigorous.

Offline the neurovore of Zur-En-Aargh

• O. M. G.
  • Riding eternal, shiny and Firefox
    • View Profile
Re: How long did it take you to write it?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2007, 05:43:22 PM »
I have been working on one particular novel now for nearly ten years. I have a huge amount of respect for authors like Jim that can crank out one or two novels a year. So my question is how long did it take them to write the first one, and how long is it taking YOU to write your first?

In the last decade or so, I have averaged about 90,000 words a year. Which is in the form of a number of complete novels that took fifteen months or so, and a number of partial projects.  I have one incomplete one that I have been working on since 1995, but that's because it's currently about 430,000 words and will probably come out at half a million, and that's pretty much not sensibly sellable as a first novel so I have been concentrating on more marketably-sized things.

I normally write Friday nights, and between two and five thousand words nine Friday nights out of ten adds up over time.
Mildly OCD. Please do not troll.

"What do you mean, Lawful Silly isn't a valid alignment?"