Author Topic: First Character Ever, new to the system, can I get a hand?  (Read 2588 times)

Offline Rungok

• Participant
    • View Profile
First Character Ever, new to the system, can I get a hand?
« on: August 13, 2011, 11:08:24 AM »
So after reading through the first book and talking with my GM, I decided that I would play an Emissary of Power.
Fleshing the idea out, I decided on Morpheus, the god of dreams, or perhaps his father Hypnos. From references in Changes, I would hypothesize that other gods from other pantheons were still kicking, yet greatly reduced. I also wanted him to have some kind of magic to go along with his emissary-ness. I think powers that deal in dreams/illusions/etc. and spells (learned before becoming an emissary) would be more evocations.

We are in refresh 10 or something. Anyone have any build suggestions for making this guy? I'm very new to the system but am really a big fan of the dresdenverse. Some help would be appreciated. If you have some ideas on this, please let me know.

Offline Masurao

• Conversationalist
  • Liberate tetemet ex inferis!
    • View Profile
Re: First Character Ever, new to the system, can I get a hand?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2011, 11:34:10 AM »
Well, where do you want to go with the character? Will his magic define him entirely, or is it a perk from his emissary-ness? Will he have only Evocation or more? And do you want him/her to be combat-capable or more of a supporting character that creates aspects for others?

Offline Taran

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
    • Chip
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2011, 01:45:40 PM »
Sponsored Magic would be great for doing lots of effects that go with your theme.  You could use it to enter peoples dreams or whatever else seems appropriate.  If you also choose to take evocation it might boost any Spirit evocations revolving around illusions/veils.

Glamours would be a good choice as well.

Offline UmbraLux

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile