Author Topic: Noob seeking... pretty much everything...  (Read 1926 times)

Offline BlackMage

• Lurker
  • I cast the spells that makes the people fall down!
    • View Profile
Noob seeking... pretty much everything...
« on: April 20, 2011, 12:20:15 PM »
Hello to the forum! 

As the thread title might inform you, I'm totally new at this.  Never played a tabletop game of any sort, but I've been hungry for some Dresden Files RPG ever since I heard about it being in development ages ago.  The Dresden Files being one of my favorite things ever has a lot to do with it.

There are a couple of problems for me though.  For one none of the people I intended to play it with are in my life anymore.  For another, obviously I have no idea how the whole thing works, exactly (I do not even have my copies of the materials yet).  Definitely gonna get Our World and Your Story either way to complete my Dresden collection, but was wondering if there is anyone else with similar issues regarding a lack of folks to play with about (I've been told this game works fine with OpenRPG).

Offline crusher_bob

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Re: Noob seeking... pretty much everything...
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 03:33:20 PM »
You can try getting into a play by post (pbp) game here on the forum.  The pbp section of RPG.net also occasionally has Dresden Files games.  I'd assume some other high traffic RPG forums also occasionally do DFRPG pbp games too.

It'd probably help if you asked more specific questions too.  Since, 'tell me everything' is a pretty tall order.

Offline BumblingBear

• Posty McPostington
  • Rawr.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2011, 08:25:51 PM »
OP,

Since Fred sanctioned it, you should check out the copy of "Your Story" on google books.

It's not the whole book, but it will give you an idea of how the game is played, and show you the templates you can choose from and most of the powers.

That portion will also explain how skills work.