Author Topic: The Catch  (Read 1700 times)

Offline Arronax

• Lurker
    • View Profile
The Catch
« on: January 11, 2011, 11:26:30 PM »
Hey first time poster so don´t hose me to hard if this is a common subject:

Is the catch for recovery based abilities always an item or object?

My friend is eventually planning on running a game and I had this idea for an Immortal Cowboy of sorts and I was thinking about the catch: that if people fire/attack using their off-hand that the catch bypasses the toughness(and recovery) based powers.

First off all is this "in theme" with the Dreden files(I have only gotten halfway through Fool Moon)?

And secondly is there any way to price this?  Personally I was thinking -3 as this is very common but somewhat unusual, but I have no actual experience with this game.

Thanks in advance.

Offline devonapple

• Posty McPostington
  • Parkour to YOU!
    • View Profile
    • LiveJournal Account
Re: The Catch
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2011, 11:48:30 PM »
There is a lengthy and relatively recent discussion of Catches in this thread, which you will hopefully find useful:
http://www.jimbutcheronline.com/bb/index.php/topic,23141.0.html

The focus was on a specific instance of a Catch, but the discussion and implications ranged far and wide. Generally speaking, most any Catch is going to be some discoverable or craftable item or object. Some have opted to establish hand-to-hand combat as a particular Catch for, say, Jade Vampires. Other things can be problematic, such as using a damage threshold. That said, the standard Ghouls in DFRPG use massive trauma as their Catch: if you take them out completely, and opt to kill them, they don't come back.

Fighting with one's off hand does not seem particularly compelling as a Catch, but don't take that as anything other than my own opinion: what do you imagine would be the game penalty for using one's off hand? And what would be the supernatural/metaphysical component of such a Catch?