Author Topic: Some Help for a GM new to the System  (Read 1257 times)

Offline Mindflayer94

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Some Help for a GM new to the System
« on: August 20, 2010, 10:44:07 PM »
So, I've been GMing for a while (about 9 years), and a skill I've never seemed to have is spreading adventures over multiple sessions. This hasn't been a problem before, none of the games I've ran have had a mechanic resolving over multiple session run, but with the Fate system's advancement being central to this idea, I've run into a bit of a snag. I had hoped I'd be able to learn the skill by the end of my intro (to the setting/system) arc but with that having just closed about 10 min. ago, it appears I haven't. So any help you can offer?

Bonus Question: I've also been having trouble balancing encounters (often winding up too hard), is there any tips/tricks you can offer in this regard?

Thanks in Advance
DV Mindflayer94 v1.2 YR3 FR2 BK+++ RP++++ JB TH++++ WG+ CL--- SW BC++ !MC SH[Murphy+++]

Offline Bruce Coulson

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Re: Some Help for a GM new to the System
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 11:15:07 PM »
Have your players complained?  Although it's nice to have a scenario run multiple sessions, if everyone in your group is happy with resolving all the issues in a single night, then I wouldn't worry about it.  Just call each adventure a minor milestone.

Complexity is the key.  If you want your games to last more than one night, then you need to have a complex scenario.  Make the players investigate the strange issues; get them moving throughout your city, talking to NPCs.  Scatter the clues among various locations.  Read a few mysteries (or watch them on film); the hero(s) never find everything out in the first few minutes or chapters.  Use red herrings or sub-plots that work with the current main adventure.