Author Topic: Monsters with nonstandard attacks  (Read 2561 times)

Offline Escher

• Participant
    • View Profile
Monsters with nonstandard attacks
« on: December 11, 2010, 06:22:35 AM »
So I've just started playing around with the system, and I have a few questions.  My background is in system-heavy games like D&D or Mutants & Masterminds, so I'm probably just overthinking this... but still.

I was trying to build a changeling harpy girl as an experiment.  I gave her Human Form, which restricts her Wings and Claws to operating only when she lets the faerie side out, but the really critical parts I'm not sure how to do.

I think I finally worked out how to make Siren Song work:  It's Incite Emotion (trance) with the At Range upgrade (if you can call trance an emotion), and the primary use of it is for Blocking the target, spending her action to mesmerize somebody with her song.

But I also wanted to give her a Harpy's Scream attack, and I just can't figure out how to do what I want it to do.  I looked at writing it up as a sonic breath weapon, but that wasn't really what I wanted -- It's a single target attack when I think an area effect is really more what I'm looking for, and it uses the Weapon skill.  I can't see how being good with knives and javelins translates to using a sonic scream more effectively.

What I really had in mind was a Weapon:2 attack that uses some other skill (I don't know, maybe Endurance or Discipline) and has a whole area effect on the area she's currently in, shattering all the glass and smashing small objects in her vicinity.  I'd be okay if it does some backlash stress to her in the process -- In fact, what I'm looking for could probably be done as a her knowing a single rote spell (and perhaps substitute endurance for conviction in the role of "how much power I can put in").

Any help or ideas?

Offline noclue

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Re: Monsters with nonstandard attacks
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 06:59:38 AM »