Author Topic: Permission to use the Dresdenverse in a short story I'm writing...  (Read 5605 times)

logarithm.and.blues

Permission to use the Dresdenverse in a short story I'm writing...
« on: September 10, 2009, 02:30:39 AM »
I'm in my last year of the IBMYP program as of this school year, and we have to do the Personal Project, which is basically "do something that interests you" (that's really basic, though). I was considering writing a short story using the Dresdenverse, except with my own OCs. However, I don't really want to get in big trouble for copyright infringement.

Bottom line: do I have a shot at getting permission from Jim to use his story universe in my short story?

Offline Shecky

• Bartender
  • O. M. G.
  • Feh.
    • View Profile
Re: Permission to use the Dresdenverse in a short story I'm writing...
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2009, 02:32:40 AM »
Given that even fanfic is a don't-ask-don't-tell status for the Dresdenverse, I'd say probably not. But it can never hurt to ask. Then again, if you're not planning to publish it, even free, that might help your case.
Official forum rules and precepts; please read: http://www.jimbutcheronline.com/bb/index.php/topic,23096.0.html

Quote from: Stanton Infeld
Well, if you couldn't do that with your bulls***, Leonard, I suspect the lad's impervious.

Offline Paynesgrey

• Bartender
  • Seriously?
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2009, 02:46:38 AM »
I'd steer clear.  If I could write.  Our Revered Author really has no choice but to be soggy and hard to light on the issue.  And that would probably make him sad.  I think.  Don't really know the man, mind you.  Just my guess based on general impressions.  Anyway, here's what the Site Gods say on Fanfic:

No fan fiction on the list. Period, end stop. Sorry.

Why? Simple.

Jim can't notice it.

If Jim notices it, he has to call the lawyers on you.

Don't make Jim notice it.